Changing Your Art…

One area I have experience in is changing martial arts.  Some Martial Arts I have done include Capoeira, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Wing Chun, and Krav Maga.  Capoeira at MOVE! Studio helped me develop technique without too much contact when it came to kicks.  Capoeira engulfs you in Brazilian Culture.  You learn multiple instruments, the language, and the art of dodging without any physical parry being needed…keep in mind if you don’t move you will get hit so there is the possibility of contact.  The system of capoeira does teach you unorthodox movements,defenses, and attacks in a very sound way.

While at capoeira I also trained Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for a short stint with a now black belt instructor by the name of Tobin Staley and a few other more advanced participants.  Brazilian Jiu Jitsu was an awesome challenge.  I’m still not proficient as I would like to be but I am always  improving.  King Krav Maga provides me with many opportunities to grapple with multiple opponents better than me.  Learning how to defend against other opponents many different attacks has allowed me to progress.

It was during my training with King Krav Maga that I learned Wing Chun with Sifu Craig Heimbichner.  I did not have the opportunity to practice it long but I did see and learn some very cool skills and techniques.  I learned the Siu Lim Tao and some fun forearm strengthening drills.  I plan on returning to Wing Chun in the future.

Krav Maga has been a fun and excellent physical and mental progression.  It is a usable system of defense and attack…some of it simultaneous defense and attack.  We have a few drills with King Krav Maga that really can push you to your limits.  One of my favorites has been grapple for the knife/gun.  You start at one end of the floor in a neutral “on your back” position and then proceed to grapple for the knife at the other end of the floor. Tactics typically lean towards Jiu Jitsu but can include covering the mouth and pushing on the gut in order to cause an out of breath situation.  A potentially very realistic scenario.

So far that’s where I am at in my martial arts journey.  I enjoy because it is a constant journey of physical and mental progression.

Leave a Reply

